The Grimshaw studio is founded on analysis and exploration. We relish the challenges inherent across a wide range of work, engaging our expertise and agility to deliver lasting, meaningful design that brings value and joy to clients and users.

Grimshaw was founded by Sir Nicholas Grimshaw in 1980. The practice became a Partnership in 2007 and operates worldwide with offices in Los Angeles, New York, London, Paris, Dubai, Melbourne, and Sydney, employing over 650 staff.


Grimshaw’s international portfolio covers all major sectors, and has been honoured with over 200 international design awards for its commitment to design excellence.

The company’s work is characterised by strong conceptual legibility, innovation and a rigorous approach to detailing, all underpinned by the principles of humane, enduring and sustainable design.

The practice is dedicated to the deepest level of involvement in the design of its buildings in order to deliver projects which meet the highest possible standards of excellence.

Grimshaw was awarded the 2016 and 2018 AJ100 International Practice of the Year Award for the firm's breadth of work around the globe.

Grimshaw’s leadership is responsible for directing the practice and projects, ensuring the company's design and company philosophy is at the core of what we do.

Our work responds to the needs and resources of the contemporary world. The buildings we produce come from a detailed understanding of the functions they must fulfil, the conditions they have to provide and the materials from which they are constructed.

As an international practice Grimshaw covers architecture, planning and industrial design across all major sectors.

Everything we produce, from buildings to master plans to industrial design, is the culmination of an evolutionary process that derives beauty from form, economy and efficiency. With each project we learn more about creating forms and places, serving processes and people, and respecting the fragility and resources of our planet.

The results of this accumulated expertise are comfortable, healthy environments that instil wonder and delight while simultaneously attending to the functional and social needs and aspirations of the individuals we serve.

Our objective is to search for optimal solutions to create a built environment that uses the planet’s resources carefully. Through this pursuit, we design buildings and environments that work, inspire people and transform communities.

Through careful evaluation of relevant opportunities, inspired ideas will drive a good design to something that is extraordinary, challenging, and completely unique.


total global staff


awards for our work


years in business


languages spoken

The practice have won over 200 awards including the AJ100 International Practice of the Year Award

2016 Commonwealth Institute of Architects; Robert Matthew Award

2016 AJ 100: International Practice of the Year

2015 AIA New York: Medal of Honor

2015 AJ 120: Project of the Year
Fulton Center →

2015 BCI Award: International Project of the Year
Fulton Center →

2015 2015 AIA New York State Design Award
Fulton Center →

2014 MASterworks Award: Best Adaptive Reuse
Queens Museum →

2013 Royal Institute of British Architects International Award
Via Verde – The Green Way →

2013 AIA Housing and Urban Development Secretary's Award
Via Verde – The Green Way →

2013 AIA New York State Award of Excellence
Via Verde – The Green Way →

2012 AIANY Andrew J. Thomas Award
Via Verde – The Green Way →

2009 AIA Honor Award for Architecture
Horno³ : Museo del Acero →

2008 Building Award "Architectural Practice of the Year"

2008 Royal Institute of Dutch Architects Building of the Year
Bijlmer ArenA Station →

2008 Royal Institute of British Architects European Award
Bijlmer ArenA Station →

2008 BD World Architect of the Year

2008 BD Transport Architect of the Year

2007 Lubetkin Prize
Southern Cross Station →

2007 RAIA Victorian Architecture Medal
Southern Cross Station →

2007 William Wardle Public Architecture Award
Southern Cross Station →

2001 Stirling Prize for Architecture - Runner Up
The Eden Project →

1995 AJ Centenary Medal for Contribution to Architecture
Sir Nicholas Grimshaw →

1994 Royal Institute of British Architects Building of the Year
International Terminal Waterloo →

1994 Mies van der Rohe Pavilion Award for European Architecture
International Terminal Waterloo →